TOWNSHIP OF SALISBURY LEHIGH COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA MINUTES FROM THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS January 13, 2022 REGULAR MEETING – 7:00 PM

The Public Meeting of the Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners was held on the above date in the Township Municipal Building located at 2900 South Pike Avenue, Allentown, Lehigh County, Pennsylvania.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Commissioner Brinton asked everyone to rise and recite the Pledge of Allegiance.

CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Brinton called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Commissioner Brinton turned the proceedings over to Ms. Cathy Bonaskiewich, Township Manager.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Debra Brinton, President Rodney Conn, Vice-President Heather Lipkin, President Pro-Tempore (arrived late) Alok Patnaik Alex Karol

Staff Present:

Cathy Bonaskiewich, Township Manager Sandy Nicolo, Assistant Township Manager/Code Enforcement Director/MS4 Coordinator Paul Ziegenfus, Finance Director James Levernier, Director of Public Works Kevin Soberick, Chief of Police – EXCUSED Ronald Patten, Police Sergeant John Ashley, Esquire, representative of Davison & McCarthy, Township Solicitor David Tettemer, representative of Keystone Consulting Engineers, Township Engineer

NOTIFICATION

Ms. Bonaskiewich informed the attendees that all sessions of the Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners regular meetings are recorded electronically for the purpose of taking the Minutes. All public comments on agenda items will be taken prior to the vote. All public commented related to non-agenda items will be taken after the agenda has been satisfied. Ms. Bonaskiewich reminded everyone of the three-minute rule and asked that anyone who wishes to speak, come to the podium, announce oneself, and sign-in with name and address so as to assist Township administration with follow-ups.

APPROVAL OF THE FINANCIAL REPORT AND LIST OF BILLS PAYABLE

Motion by Commissioner Patnaik, seconded by Commissioner Conn, to approve the unaudited Financial Report for the period ending November 30, 2021 and the of Bills Payable for the period 12/18/21 - 1/7/22, broken down as follows:

\$245,589.81 = GENERAL \$3,573.61 = FIRE \$21.83 = LIBRARY \$157,429.65 = WATER \$20,611.46= SEWER \$104,22.61 = REFUSE & RECYCLING \$236.37 = HIGHWAY AID \$52,512.68 = CAPITAL GENERAL \$27,585.48 = CAPITAL FIRE \$125,856.62 = CAPITAL SEWER **\$737,690.12 =** GRAND TOTAL ALL FUNDS

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER KAROL – YES COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – EXCUSED COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 4-0.

MINUTES

December 9, 2021 and January 3, 2022.

Commissioner Brinton declared the Minutes from December 9, 2021 and January 3, 2022 accepted as presented.

NEW BUSINESS

ORDINANCES

None.

RESOLUTIONS

<u>Resolution Approve Crossroads Church/1860 East Emmaus Avenue Land Development</u> <u>Plan.</u>

Mr. Tettemer noted that the plan consists of building a 2,000 square-foot addition and slight alterations to the existing parking area. He commented that the plan has been reviewed by the Planning Commission and there were a number of waivers recommended. Mr. Tettemer read the waivers into the record.

Motion by Commissioner Conn, seconded by Commissioner Patnaik, to adopt Resolution No. 01-2022-1735, approving Crossroads Church/1860 East Emmaus Avenue Land Development Plan.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER KAROL – YES COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

MOTIONS

Motion to Approve Refund of 2020 Township Real Estate Taxes Paid by Nicholas Park Mall LLC due to Court Approved Tax Assessment Appeal.

Mr. Ziegenfus noted that the change in assessment value of the property will amount to a \$17,000 loss in tax revenue for the Township.

Motion by Commissioner Lipkin, seconded by Commissioner Patnaik, to approve the refund of the 2020 Township real estate taxes paid by Nicholas Park Mall LLC due to a court approved tax assessment appeal.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER KAROL – YES COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Motion to Ratify the Non-Uniformed Defined Contribution Pension Plan Funding Amount for Year-End 2021.

Ms. Bonaskiewich noted the amount as \$34,515.46.

Motion by Commissioner Conn, seconded by Commissioner Karol, to ratify the Non-Uniformed Defined Contribution Pension Plan funding amount for Year-End 2021 in the amount of \$34,515.46.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER KAROL – YES COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES The Motion passed by 5-0.

Motion to Accept the Resignation by Mrs. Jane Benning from the Township's Environmental Advisory Committee (EAC).

Motion by Commissioner Lipkin, seconded by Commissioner Patnaik, to accept the resignation by Mrs. Jane Benning from the Township's Environmental Advisory Committee (EAC).

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER KAROL – YES COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Motion to Accept the Resignation of Ms. Kimberly Ringhoffer from the Township's Recreation Advisory Committee (RAC).

Motion by Commissioner Lipkin, seconded by Commissioner Patnaik, to accept the resignation of Ms. Kimberly Ringhoffer from the Township's Recreation Advisory Committee (RAC).

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER KAROL – YES COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Motion to Accept the Resignation of Mr. Paul Carr from the Township's Environmental Advisory Committee (EAC).

Motion by Commissioner Lipkin, seconded by Commissioner Patnaik, to accept the resignation of Ms. Kimberly Ringhoffer from the Township's Recreation Advisory Committee (RAC).

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER KAROL – YES COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES

COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Motion to Appoint Civil Service Commission (CSC) Alternate Member.

Commissioner Brinton stated that Mr. Andrew Katz has expressed interest in being appointed as an alternate member of the Civil Service Commission. She noted that he had been a full-time member, but because of work conflicts, he was finding it difficult to attend all of the meetings. Commissioner Brinton commented that Mr. Russell Lande had been the alternate member but was recently appointed to Mr. Katz's seat as the full-time member, which opened up the seat for the alternate member.

Motion by Commissioner Patnaik, seconded by Commissioner Karol, to appoint Mr. Andrew Katz as an Alternate Member of the Civil Service Commission.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER KAROL – YES COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

PRIVLEGE OF THE FLOOR

Commissioner Brinton announced that an Executive Session will be held after the Workshop to discuss legal matters.

Ms. Bonaskiewich noted that Mr. Frank McCullough will not seek another term on the Recreation Advisory Committee.

Ms. Bonaskiewich stated that with the three resignations from the EAC, there are only two active members and therefore, the council cannot hold meetings. A discussion ensued regarding the need for the EAC. Commissioner Lipkin noted that she will follow-up with Ms. Bonaskiewich and Mr. Nicolo about possibly revising the parameters of the EAC.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Lipkin made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Commissioner Patnaik. The time was 7:25 pm. Respectfully submitted,

Cathy Bonaskiewich Township Secretary These constitute the official Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Commissioners held on January 13, 2022.

Approved and certified on this date:

Cathy Bonaskiewich

Date: _____

SEAL