TOWNSHIP OF SALISBURY LEHIGH COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA MINUTES FROM THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS December 9, 2021 REGULAR MEETING – 7:00 PM

The Public Meeting of the Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners was held on the above date in the Township Municipal Building located at 2900 South Pike Avenue, Allentown, Lehigh County, Pennsylvania.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Commissioner Brinton asked everyone to rise and recite the Pledge of Allegiance.

CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Brinton called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Commissioner Brinton turned the proceedings over to Ms. Cathy Bonaskiewich, Township Manager.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Debra Brinton, President Rodney Conn, Vice-President James Seagreaves, President Pro-Tempore Heather Lipkin Alok Patnaik

Staff Present:

Cathy Bonaskiewich, Township Manager Sandy Nicolo, Assistant Township Manager/Code Enforcement Director/MS4 Coordinator – EXCUSED Paul Ziegenfus, Finance Director James Levernier, Director of Public Works Kevin Soberick, Chief of Police Kerry Rabold, Planning and Zoning Officer John Ashley, Esquire, representative of Davison & McCarthy, Township Solicitor David Tettemer, representative of Keystone Consulting Engineers, Township Engineer Alex Karol, 2nd Ward Commissioner-Elect

NOTIFICATION

Ms. Bonaskiewich informed the attendees that all sessions of the Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners regular meetings are recorded electronically for the purpose of taking the Minutes. All public comments on agenda items will be taken prior to the vote. All public commented related to non-agenda items will be taken after the agenda has been satisfied. Ms. Bonaskiewich reminded everyone of the three-minute rule and asked that anyone who wishes to speak, come to the podium, announce oneself, and sign-in with name and address so as to assist Township administration with follow-ups.

APPROVAL OF THE LIST OF BILLS PAYABLE

Motion by Commissioner Patnaik, seconded by Commissioner Conn, to approve the list of Bills Payable for the period 11/20/21 - 12/3/21, broken down as follows:

\$33,511.97 = GENERAL \$20,684.80 = FIRE \$0 = LIBRARY \$3,769.12 = WATER \$62,601.06 = SEWER \$101.01 = REFUSE & RECYCLING \$177.37 = HIGHWAY AID \$1,987.67 = CAPITAL GENERAL <u>\$5.00</u> = CASH ALLOCATIONS **\$122,838.00 =** GRAND TOTAL ALL FUNDS

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

MINUTES

November 23, 2021

Commissioner Brinton declared the Minutes from November 23, 2021 accepted as presented.

NEW BUSINESS

ORDINANCES

Ordinance to Enter into Cable Franchise Agreement with Service Electric Cable Television.

Motion by Commissioner Seagreaves, seconded by Commissioner Patnaik, to adopt Ordinance No. 12-2021-644, entering into a Cable Franchise Agreement with Service Electric Cable Television.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Ordinance to Amend Non-Uniformed Defined Benefit (PMRS) Pension Plan to Set Employee Contribution Rate for Year 2022.

Commissioner Brinton noted that as a result of collective bargaining with the Public Works Association, the employee contributions to the Township's PMRS Non-Uniformed Employees Defined Benefit Pension Plan will be 2.5% for year 2022.

Motion by Commissioner Conn, seconded by Commissioner Seagreaves, to adopt Ordinance No. 12-2021-645, amending the Non-Uniformed Defined Benefit (PMRS) Pension Plan to Set Employee Contribution Rate for Year 2022.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

<u>Public Comment regarding 2022 Budget Approval *and* Ordinance to Set/Reaffirm Tax Rates for the Year 2022 and Approve 2022 Budget Appropriations.</u>

No comments were heard.

Motion by Commissioner Patnaik, seconded by Commissioner Lipkin, to adopt Ordinance No. 12-2021-646, setting/reaffirming the tax rates for the Year 2022 and approve 2022 Budget Appropriations.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

RESOLUTIONS

Resolution to Set the Police Pension Plan Employee Contribution Rate for Year 2022.

Commissioner Brinton noted that the Police Pension contribution rate for the year 2022 will remain at 3.04% as per the most recent Collective Bargaining agreement.

Motion by Commissioner Conn, seconded by Commissioner Lipkin, to adopt Resolution No. 12-2021-1720, setting the Police Pension Plan Employee Contribution Rate for Year 2022.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Resolution to Increase Water Rates effective 01/01/22.

Commissioner Brinton stated that the increase is necessary in order to keep up with the increase imposed upon the Township by Lehigh County Water Authority. Ms. Bonaskiewich noted that the residents will not see the increase until the April billing.

Motion by Commissioner Patnaik, seconded by Commissioner Seagreaves, to adopt Resolution No. 012-2021-1721, increasing the water rates effective 01/01/22.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Resolution Recognizing Commissioner James Seagreaves' Years of Service to the Township.

Commissioner Brinton read the Resolution into the record and the Board thanked Commissioner Seagreaves for his 12 years of service.

Motion by Commissioner, Patnaik seconded by Commissioner Conn, to adopt Resolution No. 12-2021-1722, recognizing Commissioner James Seagreaves' Years of Service to the Township.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

MOTIONS

Motion to Approve Non-Uniformed Defined Contribution (DC) Pension Plan Funding for Year 2021.

Motion by Commissioner Lipkin, seconded by Commissioner Conn, to approve Non-Uniformed Defined Contribution (DC) Pension Plan for Funding Year 2021.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

PRIVLEGE OF THE FLOOR

Commissioner Brinton announced that the next Regular Meeting scheduled for December 22, 2021 has been cancelled.

Commissioner Brinton stated that the Board's reorganization meeting will be held on January 3, 2022 at 6:00 pm. Commissioner Conn inquired about the status of the reorganization meeting due to Lehigh County not certifying the election results. A discussion ensued and Attorney Ashley noted that he will follow-up on the matter.

Commissioner Brinton commented that the Township's 2022 Calendar will be mailed within the next few weeks.

Commissioner Seagreaves thanked everyone for their support during his tenure.

Mr. Stephen McKitish of 2220 S. Ellsworth Street brought forth a concern regarding a police incident at his home on November 19. Chief Soberick stated that he will check dispatch records and follow-up with Mr. McKitish directly.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Lipkin made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Commissioner Patnaik. The time was 7:35 pm.

Respectfully submitted,

Cathy Bonaskiewich

Township Secretary

These constitute the official Minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Commissioners held on December 9, 2021.

Approved and certified on this date:

Cathy Bonaskiewich

Date: _____

SEAL