TOWNSHIP OF SALISBURY LEHIGH COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA MINUTES FROM THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS January 9, 2020

REGULAR MEETING - 7:00 PM

The Public Meeting of the Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners was held on the above date in the Township Municipal Building located at 2900 South Pike Avenue, Allentown, Lehigh County, Pennsylvania.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Commissioner Brinton asked everyone to rise and recite the Pledge of Allegiance.

CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Brinton called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Commissioner Brinton announced that an Executive Session will take place after the meeting to discuss personnel and legal matters.

Commissioner Brinton turned the proceedings over to Ms. Cathy Bonaskiewich, Township Manager.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Debra Brinton, President Rodney Conn, Vice President James Seagreaves, President Pro-Tempore Joanne Ackerman Heather Lipkin

Staff Present:

Cathy Bonaskiewich, Township Manager
Sandy Nicolo, Assistant Township Manager/Code Enforcement Director/MS4 Coordinator
Paul Ziegenfus, Finance Director
John Andreas, Director of Public Works
Kevin Soberick, Chief of Police
Charles Whitehead, Police Corporal
Cynthia Sopka, Director of Planning & Zoning – EXCUSED
John Ashley, Esquire, representative of Davison & McCarthy, Township Solicitor
David Tettemer, representative of Keystone Consulting Engineers, Township Engineer

NOTIFICATION

Ms. Bonaskiewich informed the attendees that all sessions of the Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners regular meetings are recorded electronically for the purpose of taking the Minutes.

All public comments on agenda items will be taken prior to the vote. All public commented related to non-agenda items will be taken after the agenda has been satisfied. Ms. Bonaskiewich reminded everyone of the three-minute rule and asked that anyone who wishes to speak, come to the podium, announce oneself, and sign-in with name and address so as to assist Township administration with follow-ups.

APPROVAL OF THE FINANCIAL REPORT AND LIST OF BILLS PAYABLE

Motion by Commissioner Ackerman, seconded by Commissioner Conn, to approve the unaudited Financial Report for the period ending November 30, 2019 and the list of Bills Payable for the periods 12/7/2019-12/20/2019 and 12/21/2019-1/3/2020, broken down as follows:

12/7/2019-12/20/2019:

\$85,698.45 = GENERAL \$2,674.49 = FIRE \$0 = LIBRARY \$68,337.44 = WATER \$22,693.54 = SEWER \$0 = REFUSE & RECYCLING

\$0 = HIGHWAY AID

\$0_____ = CAPITAL GENERAL

\$179,403.92 = GRAND TOTAL ALL FUNDS

12/21/2019-1/3/2020:

\$204,521.25 = GENERAL \$102,887.88 = FIRE \$0 = LIBRARY \$16,190.93 = WATER \$31,059.00 = SEWER \$108,335.91 = REFUSE & RECYCLING \$157,231.65 = HIGHWAY AID \$2,089.60 = CAPITAL GENERAL

\$2,089.00 = CAPITAL GENER

\$43,994.90_ = CAPITAL FIRE

\$666,311.12 = GRAND TOTAL ALL FUNDS

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER ACKERMAN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

MINUTES

December 12, 2019

Commissioner Brinton declared the Minutes of December 12, 2019 accepted as presented.

NEW BUSINESS

ORDINANCES

None.

RESOLUTIONS

None.

MOTIONS

Motion to Ratify the Non-Uniformed Defined Contribution Pension Plan Funding Amount for Year-End 2019.

Ms. Bonaskiewich noted that the amount due into the plan is \$4,950.

Motion by Commissioner Ackerman, seconded by Commissioner Seagreaves, to ratify the Non-Uniformed Defined Contribution Pension Plan Funding Amount for Year-End 2019.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER ACKERMAN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Motion to Authorize the Civil Service Commission to Compile an Eligibility List for Police Department New Hire(s).

Ms. Bonaskiewich reminded the Board that the issue of hiring two replacement officers for the Police Department was reviewed in the 2020 Budget discussions. Commissioner Brinton clarified that the motion will authorize the Civil Service Commission to move forward with the process.

Motion by Commissioner Ackerman, seconded by Commissioner Conn, to authorize the Civil Service Commission to Compile an Eligibility List for Police Department New Hire(s).

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER ACKERMAN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Motion to Accept Mr. Edward Hare's Resignation from the Zoning Hearing Board.

Ms. Bonaskiewich stated that after ten years of service on the Zoning Hearing Board, Mr. Edward Hare gave notice of his resignation following the ZHB meeting on December 10, 2019. Ms. Bonaskiewich noted that his term does not end until January 1, 2022 and the Township will be seeking applicants to finish out his term.

Motion by Commissioner Ackerman, seconded by Commissioner Lipkin, to accept with regret the resignation of Mr. Edward Hare from the Zoning Hearing Board.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER ACKERMAN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Appointment – by Motion

Ms. Bonaskiewich noted that the appointment of a Second Ward resident to the Environmental Advisory Council was erroneously made to Mr. John Barbaz at the re-organization meeting on January 6, 2020. She clarified that Mr. Barbaz's term does not end until January 1, 2020. Ms. Bonaskiewich stated that the Township should have sought the reappointment of Ms. Sandra Eckhart (née Engler), who has requested to be reappointed.

1. Environmental Advisory Council (3-year term)

a. Second Ward

Commissioner Seagreaves nominated Ms. Sandra Eckhart. Commissioner Conn seconded the motion.

A roll call vote was taken:

COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER ACKERMAN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES The Board voted 5-0 to approve the appointment of Ms. Sandra Eckhart to the Environmental Advisory Council for a term of three years.

PRIVLEGE OF THE FLOOR

Commissioner Conn announced that Commissioner Lipkin will be replacing him as the Board liaison to the Environmental Advisory Council.

Commissioner Ackerman noted that the area repaved on Ott Street near Green Acres Drive is accumulating water and expressed concerns about ice. Mr. Andreas commented that he will look into it.

Ms. Bonaskiewich announced that the Zoning Hearing Board meeting on February 4, 2020 will be held at the Salisbury Middle School due to the large crowd expected.

Chief Soberick stated that the first process in the new consortium testing is complete, and it looks like there will be around 30 candidates eligible to move on to the next steps.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Conn made a motion to adjourn the meeting.	Seconded by	Commissioner 1	Lipkin.
The time was 7:15 pm.			

The time was 7.13 pm.
Respectfully submitted,
Cathy Bonaskiewich Township Secretary
These constitute the official minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Commissioners held on January 9, 2020.
Approved and certified on this date:
Cathy Bonaskiewich
Date:
SEAL