TOWNSHIP OF SALISBURY LEHIGH COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA MINUTES FROM THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS December 22, 2020 REGULAR MEETING – 7:00 PM

*SPECIAL NOTIFICATION - This public meeting of the Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners was held in a hybrid setting using the Zoom virtual meeting platform due to the COVID-19 pandemic and social distancing auidelines.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Brinton called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Commissioner Brinton turned the proceedings over to Ms. Cathy Bonaskiewich, Township Manager.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Debra Brinton, President Rodney Conn, Vice-President James Seagreaves, President Pro-Tempore Heather Lipkin Alok Patnaik

Staff Present:

Cathy Bonaskiewich, Township Manager
Sandy Nicolo, Assistant Township Manager/Code Enforcement Director/MS4 Coordinator
Paul Ziegenfus, Finance Director
John Andreas, Director of Public Works – EXCUSED
Kevin Soberick, Chief of Police
Dustin Grow, Fire Services Director
Genny Baillie, Recreation Director
John Ashley, Esquire, representative of Davison & McCarthy, Township Solicitor
David Tettemer, representative of Keystone Consulting Engineers, Township Engineer

NOTIFICATION

Ms. Bonaskiewich welcomed the attendees to the regular meeting of the Board of Commissioners for December 22, 2020. She noted that the meeting is being held in a hybrid setting using the Zoom virtual meeting platform due to the current COVID-19 conditions and with respect to social distancing and public gathering guidelines. Ms. Bonaskiewich commented that the meeting is being recorded electronically for the purpose of taking the Minutes and asked that attendees keep themselves muted to keep background noise to a minimum. She stated that if anyone would like to comment on a particular agenda item or during courtesy of the floor, he/she should unmute

his/herself and use the hand raise button. All public comments on agenda items will be taken prior to the vote and all public comments related to non-agenda items will be taken after the agenda has been satisfied. Ms. Bonaskiewich requested speakers to please announce his/her name and address for the purpose of taking down the Minutes.

APPROVAL OF THE FINANCIAL REPORT AND LIST OF BILLS PAYABLE

Motion by Commissioner Lipkin, seconded by Commissioner Conn, to approve the list of Bills Payable for the period 12/5/20-12/18/20 and the unaudited Financial Report for the period ending November 30, 2020, broken down as follows:

\$80,764.53 = GENERAL \$15,450.51 = FIRE \$0 = LIBRARY \$202,874.27 = WATER \$183,272.40 = SEWER \$4.00 = REFUSE & RECYCLING \$12,208.18 = HIGHWAY AID \$53,327.55_ = CAPITAL GENERAL \$547,901.44 = GRAND TOTAL ALL FUNDS

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

MINUTES

December 10, 2020

Commissioner Brinton declared the Minutes from December 10, 2020 accepted as presented.

NEW BUSINESS

ORDINANCES

Ordinance to Amend Non-Uniformed Defined Benefit (PMRS) Pension Plan to Set Employee Contribution Rate for Year 2021.

Ms. Bonaskiewich noted that the Ordinance will formally establish the contribution rate for year 2021 at two percent (2%).

Motion by Commissioner Seagreaves, seconded by Commissioner Conn, to approve Ordinance No. 12-2020-632, amending the Non-Uniformed Defined Benefit (PMRS) Pension Plan to Set Employee Contribution Rate for Year 2021.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

RESOLUTIONS

Resolution to Increase Refuse and Recycling Rates effective 01/01/21.

Ms. Bonaskiewich noted that the rate will be increasing to \$93 per unit, per quarter.

Motion by Commissioner Conn, seconded by Commissioner Lipkin, to adopt Resolution No. 12-2020-1693, increasing the refuse and recycling rates effective 01/01/21.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Resolution in Recognition of Years of Service and to Accept the retirement of Letitia Forthman.

Ms. Bonaskiewich noted that the Board is in receipt of Ms. Forthman's intent to retire and her last day was December 21, 2020. She explained that the Board is authorizing the execution of her pension when she is eligible for those benefits in July 2021.

Motion by Commissioner Conn, seconded by Commissioner Lipkin, to adopt Resolution No. 12-2020-1694, recognizing years of service and accepting the retirement of Letitia Forthman.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES The Motion passed by 5-0.

MOTIONS

Motion to Ratify Declaration of Snow Emergency for Winter Storm Gail.

Ms. Bonaskiewich noted that the Township declared a snow emergency at 8:00 pm on December 15th and this is a precautionary measure in case there are any residual effects because of the storm.

Motion by Commissioner Seagreaves, seconded by Commissioner Conn, to ratify the declaration of a Snow Emergency for Winter Storm Gail.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER PATNAIK – YES COMMISSIONER LIPKIN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

PRIVLEGE OF THE FLOOR

The Board thanked the Department of Public Works for their efforts with snow plowing during the recent winter storm.

Commissioner Patnaik brought forth concerns from the Green Acres neighborhood regarding the destruction of inflatable Christmas decorations. Chief Soberick commented that the Police Department is investigating the situation and noted that residents are reporting criminal activity on social media rather than calling the Police Department. He reminded the public to contact the police if they have information to help with a crime.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Seagreaves made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Commissioner Conn. The time was 7:22 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Cathy Bonaskiewich Township Secretary

These constitute the official minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Commissioners held on December 22, 2020.
Approved and certified on this date:
Cathy Bonaskiewich
Date:
SEAL