TOWNSHIP OF SALISBURY LEHIGH COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA MINUTES FROM THE BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS January 25, 2018 REGULAR MEETING – 7:00 PM

The Public Meeting of the Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners was held on the above date in the Township Municipal Building located at 2900 South Pike Avenue, Allentown, Lehigh County, Pennsylvania.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Commissioner Martucci asked everyone to rise and recite the Pledge of Allegiance, followed by a short period of silence and reflection.

CALL TO ORDER

Commissioner Martucci called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Commissioner Martucci announced that an Executive Session will take place after the meeting to discuss a legal matter.

Commissioner Martucci turned the proceedings over to Ms. Cathy Bonaskiewich, Township Manager.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Present:

Robert Martucci, Jr., President Debra Brinton, Vice-President James Seagreaves, President Pro-Tempore Joanne Ackerman Rodney Conn

Staff Present:

Cathy Bonaskiewich, Township Manager
Paul Ziegenfus, Finance Director
John Andreas, Director of Public Works
Allen Stiles, Chief of Police
Don Sabo, Police Sergeant
Cynthia Sopka, Director of Planning & Zoning
Sandy Nicolo, Code Enforcement Officer, MS4 Coordinator
Genny Baillie, Recreation Director
Marc Albanese, Esquire, rep of Davison & McCarthy, Township Solicitor
David Tettemer, rep of Keystone Consulting Engineers, Township Engineer

NOTIFICATION

Ms. Bonaskiewich informed the attendees that all sessions of the Salisbury Township Board of Commissioners regular meetings are recorded electronically for the purpose of taking the Minutes. All public comments on agenda items will be taken prior to the vote. All public commented related to non-agenda items will be taken after the agenda has been satisfied.

Ms. Bonaskiewich reminded everyone of the three-minutes rule and asked that anyone who wishes to speak, come to the podium, announce oneself, and sign-in with name and address so as to assist Township administration with follow-ups.

APPROVAL OF THE FINANCIAL REPORT AND LIST OF BILLS PAYABLE

Motion by Commissioner Seagreaves, seconded by Commissioner Ackerman, to approve the unaudited Financial Report for the period ending 12/31/2017 and the list of Bills Payable for the period 1/6/2017-1/19/2018, broken down as follows:

\$442,528.25 = GENERAL \$2,113.24 = FIRE \$13.66 = LIBRARY \$391,610.31 = WATER \$61,892.43 = SEWER \$768.15 = REFUSE & RECYCLING \$24,454.30_ = HIGHWAY AID \$923,380.34 = GRAND TOTAL ALL FUNDS

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER ACKERMAN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER MARTUCCI – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

MINUTES

January 11, 20118

Commissioner Martucci declared the Minutes of January 11, 2018 accepted as presented.

NEW BUSINESS

ORDINANCES

None.

RESOLUTIONS

Resolution to appoint a Township resident to serve on the Allentown Public Library Board.

Ms. Bonaskiewich stated that Township resident, Ms. Ann Bove of 2379 S. Filbert Street, is interested in serving on the Allentown Public Library Board.

Motion by Commissioner Brinton, seconded by Commissioner Conn, to adopt Resolution No. 01-2018-1599, appointing Ms. Ann Bove to serve on the Allentown Public Library Board.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER ACKERMAN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER MARTUCCI – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Resolutions to recognize long-standing service of Board and Commission members:

- James Kelley (Posthumously Zoning Hearing Board)
- Stephen McKitish (Planning Commission)
- William Licht, PhD (Planning Commission)

Ms. Bonaskiewich stated that in recognition of long-standing service to the Township, it is appropriate to put forth Resolutions honoring the former members. She noted that there was over 50 years of service between the three members.

Motion by Commissioner Conn, seconded by Commissioner Brinton, to adopt Resolution Numbers 01-2018-1600, 01-2018-1601 and 01-2018-1602, recognizing James Kelley, Stephen McKitish and William Licht, PhD for their years of service to the Township.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER ACKERMAN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER MARTUCCI – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

MOTIONS

Motion to appoint a Deputy Tax Collector.

Ms. Bonaskiewich explained that the Tax Collector must appoint a Deputy Tax Collector to act on his/her behalf in the event he/she would become incapacitated. She noted that Ms. Linda Minger would like to appoint Ms. Letitia Forthman as the Deputy Tax Collector until the end of Ms. Minger's current term, which is 2021.

Motion by Commissioner Ackerman, seconded by Commissioner Seagreaves, to appoint Ms. Letitia Forthman as Deputy Tax Collector for the term 2018-2021.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER ACKERMAN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER MARTUCCI – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

Motion to appoint a member to the Environmental Advisory Council.

Ms. Bonaskiewich commented that Commissioner Conn has received two applications for the vacancy on the Environmental Advisory Council and is ready to make a recommendation.

Motion by Commissioner Conn, seconded by Commissioner Ackerman, to appoint Ms. Jacquelyn Heiserman of 950 E. Montgomery Street to serve on the Environmental Advisory Council.

Roll Call:

COMMISSIONER ACKERMAN – YES COMMISSIONER SEAGREAVES – YES COMMISSIONER BRINTON – YES COMMISSIONER CONN – YES COMMISSIONER MARTUCCI – YES

The Motion passed by 5-0.

PRIVLEGE OF THE FLOOR

Chief Stiles announced that Corporals Christopher Casey and Charles Whitehead have successfully completed their probationary period for the rank of Corporal and will remain in that position.

Chief Stiles commented that there was a large oil spill at the corner of Lehigh Avenue and Ueberroth Avenue on Wednesday, January 24^{th,} which was caused by a leak in a residential heating oil tank. The oil traveled through the sanitary sewer system and into Trout Creek. Chief Stiles stated that Lehigh County Hazmat was called to the scene as well as a private company to handle the cleanup. He noted that the Township will recoup the cost from the people who are responsible for the spill. Chief Stiles thanked the Public Works Department, Eastern and Western Fire Departments and Mr. Nicolo for their assistance.

ADJOURNMENT

Commissioner Seageaves made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Commissioner Ackerman. The time was 7:14 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,
Cathy Bonaskiewich Township Secretary
These constitute the official minutes of the Regular Meeting of the Board of Commissioners held on January 25, 2018.
Approved and certified on this date:
Cathy Bonaskiewich
Date:
SEAL